With Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te"o creating some Heismale buzz, here"s a look at exactly how previous defenders have done in the Heisguy race.

You are watching: Has a defensive player ever won the heisman


There"s been many buzz this previous week around the Heisguy prospects of Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te"o, so I thought it"d be worthwhile to go ago and look at how previous defenders have done in the Heismale race. 

Here are the defenders that have finiburned in the optimal 5 in the vote. Keep in mind that a few of them before 1965 likewise played offense. An apples-to-apples compariboy via Te"o is better made between players who only played defense many thanks to the implementation of the two-platoon device and infinite substitutions starting in 1965. This is why Charles Woodboy, that also played significant snaps at wide receiver for Michigan while winning the Heisman in 1997, is not on this list.

Defensive players in the optimal 5 of the Heismale vote

1948 - Chuck Bednarik, Pennsylvania, 3rd

1952 - Donn Moomaw, UCLA, 4th

1954 - Kurt Burris, Oklahoma, 2nd

1956 - Jerry Tubbs, Oklahoma, 4th

1957 - Alex Karras, Iowa, 2nd

1962 - Lee Roy Jordan, Alabama, 4th

1964 - Cock Butkus, Illinois, 3rd

1968 - Ted Hendricks, Miami, 5th

1972 - Rich Glover, Nebraska, 3rd

1977 - Ross Browner, Notre Dame, 5th

1980 - Hugh Eco-friendly, Pittsburgh, 2nd

1983 - Terry Hoage, Georgia, 5th

1986 - Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma, 4th

1991 - Steve Emtmale, Washington, 4th

2009 - Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, 4th

2011 - Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, 5th

A linebacker hasn"t made it into the optimal 5 of the vote because Brian Bosworth in 1986. For those of you that remember, Bosworth was one of the vibrant characters in college footround background and also he exemplified the, ahem, spirited Oklahoma groups of the mid-1980s. Had Bosworth been a quiet hayseed, it"s unconvinced he would"ve been offered as a lot attention.

As for Te"o, he wouldn"t be the initially Notre Dame defender to make the trip to New York. Ross Browner did it in 1977 while helping to lead the Irish to a nationwide title. Thirty-5 years later, Te"o is in the mix to carry out just that.

See more: The Best 15 Writ Of Habeas Corpus In A Sentence, Use “Habeas Corpus” In A Sentence

While I preserve that pure defenders can not win the Heisguy, a hollowed-out Heismale field provides Te"o a possibility to complete as high as second, somepoint a defender hasn"t done because Hugh Environment-friendly in 1980. The Pitt defensive finish was nearly the exception to the Heisguy rule that year, losing out to South Carolina tailago George Rogers by simply 260 points (he obtained 179 first-location votes to Rogers" 216). 

One other point to make: Not all finishes in the Heismale race are equal. Both Bosworth ("86) and also Ndamukong Suh ("09) finimelted fourth in the vote in their corresponding years. But Bosworth got just nine first-place votes and 395 points, finishing well behind Vinny Testaverde, who won in a landslide with 2,213 points. Meanwhile, Suh garnered 161 first-place votes and also 815 points, much less than 600 points behind winner Mark Ingram"s 1,304. Two fourth-place finishes, 2 extremely various outcomes.